Book Review: Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo

Hey guys it’s Monday and time for my weekly book review, today I’m switching it up a bit and reviewing two books. This is a duology set so my review will probably be a bit longer than my other reviews. But if you like my reviews and want to read more of my blog hit that follow button! 😀

Six of Crows Summary:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price–and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction―if they don’t kill each other first.

My Review: So I read Six Of Crows when I was in a major book hangover, it took me until about 50 pages in to get into the book. But once I got through those pages and things started to heat up I was instantly hooked. The book is told from at least six other POV’s for some people it might get confusing and annoying but I really liked it. I enjoyed getting personal insights on all the characters and I think it really helped the plot along. So here are the main reasons I enjoyed reading Six of Crows,

1.) I loved the imagery and fantastical world of the seedy Ketterdam. It almost reminds me of a Victorian London just dystopian. I liked reading about how Ketterdam worked when it came to gangs business and fooling tourists. I also really liked that Ketterdam is painted one way to the tourists while the audience gets to see the truth and share on the inside joke of getting one over on the tourists.

2.) I really enjoyed all the characters POV it continued to keep the plot moving and it was nice to get to know all the different characters

3.) Characterization was really well done in this book I enjoyed how underhanded Kaz could be as the leader of this small group. I also thought it was very realistic that each character bears different scars whether they be physical or emotional.

4.) And last but certainly not least I loved the plot. It was fast moving, action packed, some what romantic and really took the audience for a ride. Be careful though there’s a cliffhanger ending!

Crooked Kingdom Summary:

Crooked Kingdom: the highly anticipated sequel to Leigh Bardugo’s thrilling #1 New York Times-bestselling Six of Crows.

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.

My Review: So I totally loved this book from start to finish it was just about everything I expected. I really liked this book for these reasons.

1.) Romance: As you guys know I’m a hopeless romantic so when I read about alot of the different romances between characters I was like hell yes! What I liked about the romances is they weren’t all straight couples and the romance didn’t feel forced at all.

2.) Characterization: I didn’t think I could love the characters more than I already did but Bardugo made me fall harder. I felt like I really understood the characters and sympathized with the continuous struggles they faced just to gain freedom.

3.) Ohhhhh the feels of this book are crazy I filled up a few times reading what each character had to face and uggghhhh I almost completely lost it.

4.) Imagery: It was nice to read about the other regions other than Ketterdam. All of the different cultures felt so real and I loved getting to know about the people and their traditions.

So as a total rating of the duology I’d have to say I give it 4.5 stars. The books were really good but Six of Crows was a little difficult to get into and the duology was flimsy and broke apart so I would suggest getting the books separately. Also in Crooked Kingdom they don’t actually end the series so hopefully there will be another book to follow up the series!