Book Review: The Great Library series meets These Rebel Waves in The Soul Keepers by Devon Taylor

Hey everyone! How are you all doing this fine Monday morning? I hope you all had an awesome and somewhat relaxing weekend, summer is almost over and people who are still in school like myself have alot of things to get done. I plan on posting as much as possible, but for now enjoy this fun book review!

The Soul Keepers

Summary:

Death is just the beginning.

After dying in a terrible car accident, Rhett awakens in the afterlife and is recruited to join the crew of the Harbinger, a colossal seafaring vessel tasked with ferrying the souls of the dead. To where exactly, no one knows. But the crew must get the souls there, and along the way protect them from vicious soul-eating monsters that will stop at nothing to take the ship and all of its occupants.

Rhett and his new friends have a hard enough time fighting back the monsters that grow bolder and more ferocious every day. But then a new threat emerges, a demon who wants something that Rhett has. And if she gets it, it could mean the end of everything… for both the living and the dead.

My Review: I rate this book 4/5⭐’s. The plot was very interesting and it was like ghosts meet pirates. As far as opening books go this was a very good introduction to an interesting series. The plot was really good and fast paced and the characters interesting and different. And because this book talks alot about death the majority of the time some people may have a hard time reading this.

I definetly recommend that people check out this book. The concept of the story was fresh and something I can say with 100% honesty say I have never read before. I was pretty skeptical of this book as I’ve never really read a pirate book before but I was pleasantly surprised how much of a Great Library vibe this gave me.

Each character was different in their own way. Mak was very prickly yet sensitive if you got past her guard reminding me of Spinelli from Recess. Rhett was the new guy who hadn’t yet accepted or understood his death, and Basil was a cool but cocky and loyal British guy who followed orders. Each character in the book fit into a small puzzle, and that’s usually who they worked with.

The plot for this book was very intense. Sometimes it could be a bit on the morbid side as Rhett and the readers had to picture how someone would die. It’s definitely a darker toned tale with some satire to get rid of the gloomy atmosphere. My personal favorite part of this book was the training sessions Rhett went through. It’s also nice because there is a bit of romance in this book between two characters I didn’t even think liked each other. But I digress this book was very interesting, and for people who don’t mind reading darker toned tales I definitely recommend it.

If you enjoyed this review and want post notifications via email just hit that follow button and have a great day!

AUTHOR BIO:

Devon Taylor was born in Las Vegas, Nevada and currently lives in Pennsylvania with his wife and two daughters. His day job consists of sneaking around the house with ninja-like stealth to avoid waking up his kids. When not writing, reading, or tediously typing out text messages with all the correct spelling and punctuation, he spends his time with his family. THE SOUL KEEPERS is his debut novel.

Leave a comment