Book Review: Redemption’s Blood meets Dust and Shadow in The Devil’s Standoff by V.S. McGrath

Hey everyone how are you all doing this fine Mondauy Morning? I’m happy to say that I was chosen for another book tour. This of course no way shape or form changes my opinion of the book that I am reviewing. And the book I’m reviewing today is:

The Devil’s Standoff

Summary: Welcome to the birthplace of the Devil’s Revolver, where untold danger lurks for Hettie Alabama and her companions…
The second book in the epic, magic-clad Devil’s Revolver series follows Hettie and her sister south of the Wall into Mexico, where they must unmake Hettie’s infernal mage gun while confronting a magic- and land-hungry army and a monster from hell drawn to the powers of the weapon. Hettie wants nothing more than to break her bond to the cursed Devil’s Revolver and find a way to keep her sister safe — but Abby’s indigo powers are growing stronger, and in the gated, walled village where they take refuge, nothing is exactly as it seems. Pursued by the Pinkertons, left without allies or guardians, Hettie has to rely on her own grit and determination to do the right thing, no matter the cost.
This second installment of V. S. McGrath’s sweeping and high-stakes saga draws its truly unforgettable gunslinger heroine to her limits and ends with a satisfying bang.

My Review: I rate this book 5🌟’s. This book had everything from the first installment and so much more! I started reading it one day and was sadly finished with it the next. I’m very excited to read the 3rd installment whenever it is released!

This book had absolutely everything that I was hoping it would have and more! Amazing character development, questioning one’s true purpose, letting go if power, keeping your loved ones safe, and learning not to hold you’re loved ones back are only a handful of the themes in this amazing second installment.

The characters were already amazing to begin with but they got even more interesting in this book! After everything Hettie has learned and endured I don’t blame her for being cautious and weary of people. She’s still very mistrustful but she grows while using the mage gun, El Diablo. She’s made many sacrifices and continues to help people as best she can even when they don’t want her help or shun her. This story also introduced many new and amazing characters that were also filled to the brim with deep characterization.

The magic was of course one of my favorite things in this book. The reader’s as well as the characters are introduced to new magic no one even thought capable making one of the characters an even bigger target then Hettie herself!

The pacing of this story was also perfect it lead into deep characterizations and kept the story going without feeling forced.

All in all this book was absolutely amazing and I will definitely be buying this book! If you enjoyed this review check out the links below and see for yourself how great the book is.

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/the-devil-s-standoff

And if you want to get to know the brilliant mind behind these amazing books, take a look at the author bio.

AUTHOR BIO:
Vicki So, writing as V. S. McGrath, is a published romance author (as Vicki Essex) and has six books with Harlequin Superromance: Her Son’s Hero (July 2011); Back to the Good Fortune Diner (January 2013), which was picked for the Smart Bitches Trashy Books Sizzling Book Club; In Her Corner (March 2014); A Recipe for Reunion (March 2015); Red Carpet Arrangement (January 2016); and Matinees with Miriam (November 2016). She lives in Toronto, Canada.

Well that ends another fun book review, I hope you all enjoyed it. For post notifications via email just hit that follow button and I hope everyone has a great Monday!

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Redemption’s Blood meets Dust and Shadow in The Devil’s Standoff by V.S. McGrath — bookishnerdygirl | Fantasy Gift Sources: Book Reviews, Article Resources, News
  2. Giselle [Xpresso Reads] · August 20, 2018

    This sounds like a really well written and compelling read! Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Salvietti · September 6, 2018

    Hello there I’m thus over joyed I came across your blog, I truly observed anyone in error, though I has been searching upon Askjeeve with regard to something different, Anyhow We are right here today and also might just as to express thanks a lot for just a great submit as well as a at all times enjoyable website (I additionally really like the particular theme/design), We don’t possess time to pass through all this at the minute although I’ve ended up saving this and in addition added with your rss feeds, so when I’ve got occasion I am time for read more, You should perform continue the particular brilliant career.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookishgirlnerdygirl · September 6, 2018

      Thank you so much! I will continue blogging it’s hard work but it’s totally worth it. I hope to make it a career that I get paid for one day, as of right now I’m just happy to get any feedback whether positive or negative. 🙂

      Like

  4. Betzer · January 19, 2019

    I merely wanted to jot down an instant concept in order to give thanks an individual for anyone fantastic suggestions in addition to ideas you might be exhibiting on this internet site.

    Like

Leave a comment